Venus Principle reveal first video single ‘Rebel Drones’ and details of debut album “Stand in Your Light”.

Venus Principle are now premiering the video clip ‘Rebel Drones’ as the first single taken from the dark psychedelic rockers’ debut full-length “Stand in Your Light”, which has been slated for release on May 27. Biographical information and all details about the British-Swedish outfit’s first album can be viewed below.

The melancholic black & white video ‘Rebel Drones’ with a captivating interplay between female and male vocals is now available for immediate publication via this link:

Venus Principle comment: “Releasing a debut album is the pinnacle moment for any new band and even more so with the added obstacle of recording that album during a pandemic across two countries”, writes singer and pianist Daisy Chapman. “After months of work behind closed doors, its first public airing is both exciting and tense – everything has to be right. We are stoked to finally release our first single. ‘Rebel Drones’ was among the first songs written and we think it represents the whole album particularly well. This project was conceived remotely, but the music on ‘Stand in Your Light’ transcends borders and represents Venus Principle as one entity of experienced musicians and friends. We can hardly wait for all the world to finally hear our creation.”

“Stand in Your Light” tracklist: 1. Rebel Drones 2. Barricades 3. All These Words 4. Days of Summer 5. The Lord He Giveth and He Taketh Away 6. Shut It Down 7. Kindle the Fire 8. Drag Nets 9. Sanctuary 10. The Haunting 11. Stand in Your Light

“Stand in Your Light” is a work of love. Passion drips out of every note from the bitter-sweet honeycomb of solemn melodies that Venus Principle have created for their debut album. Although this is the first record from the British-Swedish collective, these hymns for the burdened and broken come audibly with the profound maturity of hard earned experience from all the veteran musicians involved.

Classic rock is at the heart of “Stand in Your Light”. Whether the resulting music is dubbed art rock, progressive rock, psychedelic rock, or anything else, Venus Principle are openly showing their roots with obvious pride: KING CRIMSON, PINK FLOYD, BLACK MOUNTAIN, GENESIS, Bob Welch era FLEETWOOD MAC, and many others of the giants that shaped modern guitar based music into the towering and persistent heritage have left their marks on “Stand in Your Light”. Yet the 6-piece is anything but a simple carbon copy.

Expertly, Venus Principle add their own ingredients to the canonical rock elements. Foremost pain and darkness permeate each track, spawning a terrible beauty ruling in triumphant glory. Yet shadow cannot exist without light, which the British-Swedish musicians provide in delicate moments of hope, tenderness, and warmth. In these aspects of “Stand in Your Light”, the metal spirit of some of the protagonists on the album reveals itself. Particularly tasteful British influences such as musically a dose from the legacy of sadly split-up ANATHEMA, and on a more emotional level a pinch of MY DYING BRIDE and PARADISE LOST but without their metallic harshness have added to the collective’s recipe.

Venus Principle were formed in autumn 2019 after several of its members decided to part ways with CRIPPLED BLACK PHOENIX. Still fully in love with dark, melodic art rock and psychedelic music, this group of close-knit friends was not content to just sit at home and twiddle thumbs. Inviting more familiar associates into their fold that included active and former members of AT THE GATES, ISON, TACOMA NARROWS BRIDGE DISASTER, and LOUISE LEMÓN this new rock band was born. To join the collective took more than just being friends. Each member is expected to share the passion and musical vision for this modern take on a vintage sound, which this new band derives from both the styles of Sweden and the UK that is crafted into a fresh and eclectic aural experience.

Although they are just at the starting point of an intended long career, Venus Principle emerge with the fully-fledged masterpiece “Stand in Your Light”. This album is bound to accomplish a most difficult feat by delighting adherents of both rock and metal.

Venus Principle line-up: Daniel Änghede – vocals, guitars / Daisy Chapman – vocals, piano / Jonas Stålhammar – guitars, keyboards / Mark Furnevall – keyboards, backing vocals / Ben Wilsker – drums / Pontus Blom – bass

Guest musicians: August Eriksson – saxophone / Johan Weber – pedal steel guitar / Kalle Widén – pedal steel guitar

Produced by Venus Principle / Recording by Jamie McKivitt at Shaken Oak Farm, Witney, UK / Recording by Kalle Widén at Studio Enheten, Uddevalla, Sweden / Additional tracking by Scot Mckenzie at New Cut Studios / Additional tracking by Jonas Stålhammar and Daniel Änghede at Moondawn and Observatoriet Studios / Logo design by Jonathan Hultén / Artwork & layout by Roger Iderman

Available formats: “Stand in Your Light” is available as a 36-page hardcover 2CD artbook incl. bonus tracks, on limited gatefold 2-LP crystal clear vinyl, on gatefold 2-LP black vinyl, and as Digisleeve CD

Pre-sale link: