Gatecreeper announce new album ‘Dark Superstition’ coming may 17th.

Gatecreeper’s Dark Superstition is leading a new wave of American death metal.

Their sprawling third full-length, and label debut for Nuclear Blast, is more concise, melodic, and memorable than anything they’ve ever done. It’s a pivotal moment which sees vocalist Chase H. Mason, guitarists Eric Wagner and Israel Garza, drummer Metal Matt Arrebollo and bassist Alex Brown—carving out their own path.

Dark Superstition deals with the supernatural, divination, fear of the unknown, and trust in magic or chance. “Many of the songs incorporate supernatural ideas with my own experiences,” Mason says. “But the title itself is a reference to the Superstition Mountains in our home state of Arizona. It’s a beautiful mountain range surrounded by tragedy and legends of hidden fortune.”

The album’s intricate lead single ‘The Black Curtain’ leans heavily in a rock direction, and embodies Dark Superstition’s themes with a tale of divination. “It’s about being trapped between living and dying,” Mason tells. “A soul trapped in purgatory begging to be brought back by a supernatural force.” ‘The Black Curtain’ is available today alongside a video directed by Max Moore

Dark Superstition moves swiftly from one brutal soundscape to the next, each sonic structure evoking its own emotion and landscape. To help perfect their game this round, Gatecreeper joined forces with drummer / songwriter Fred Estby, of Swedish death metal titans DISMEMBER, whose influences can be heard throughout the album. Dark Superstition was recorded at God City Studios in Salem, MA with CONVERGE guitarist Kurt Ballou, who also mixed the album.

The album sees its release May 17 via Nuclear Blast Records. Gatecreeper set out on a Southeast Asian tour which covers Japan, Thailand, Vietnam , Australia, New Zealand and more. They have also confirmed a North American support run with In Flames which covers East Coast, the Midwest and Texas. Tickets are on sale now.

Pre-order/pre-save Dark Superstition:

Watch the video for ‘The Black Curtain’:

Gatecreeper – Dark Superstition: LP | CD | Cassette | Digital Album

Tracklist: 01 – Dead Star 02 – Oblivion 03 – The Black Curtain 04 – Masterpiece of Chaos 05 – Superstitious Vision 06 – A Chilling Aura 07 – Caught in the Treads 08 – Flesh Habit 09 – Mistaken For Dead 10 – Tears Fall From the Sky

About Gatecreeper: Formed in 2013, Gatecreeper have spent the last decade steadily winning fans across metal, punk and hardcore scenes. Their self-titled 2014 EP established instant credibility as purveyors of the old-school form. The band signed with Relapse, releasing their highly acclaimed full-length debut Sonoran Depravation (2016), followed by Deserted (2019). Throughout the years they’ve toured with Cannibal Corpse, Power Trip, Obituary, Municipal Waste and more.

Gatecreeper is: Chase H. Mason | Vocals – Eric Wagner | Guitar – Matt Arrebollo | Drums – Israel Garza | Guitar – Alex Brown | Bass