Voivod launch new digital single “Paranormalium” & lyric-video off new album “Synchro Anarchy”!

Canadian progressive sci-fi metal innovators Voivod continue the promotional campaign for their upcoming studio album “Synchro Anarchy”, out worldwide on February 11th, 2022 via Century Media Records.

A second single off “Synchro Anarchy” is being released, so go check out the album’s opening track “Paranormalium” in a lyric video created by Cloud Music Typography at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sIgY8LNK8H4&ab_channel=CenturyMediaRecords

Voivod guitarist Daniel “Chewy” Mongrain checked in with the following comment about the song: ““Paranormalium” opens with the very last guitar melody you hear on The Wake’s last song “Sonic Mycelium”, in the fade out of the string quartet. We wanted both entities or dimensions to connect through music as 2 parallel worlds can connect through distorted space-time, black holes, vibrations, spirituality or anything else.

“Paranormalium” is the name Denis “Snake” Bélanger came up with while writing the lyrics, trying to gather all of these concepts in one imaginary particle called “Paranormalium”. Depending on your individual perception or any influential inner or external event, makes oneself see or not see, be part of or not be part of, someone else’s reality OR even being stuck between many different dimensions as it is all connected in some ways through “Paranormalium”.

It’s one of the most complex, twisted and heavy songs on the album with many different landscapes. The melody comes back many times during the song in different forms, as reality can be consisted of the same material taking on different aspects. In the end, are we really living in the reality we think we’re in???”

Previously, Voivod launched the album’s first single “Planet Eaters” with a video clip directed by Pierre Menetrier at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lvHjNcjMqvU&ab_channel=CenturyMediaRecords

“Synchro Anarchy” was recorded and mixed by Francis Perron at RadicArt Studio in Québec, Canada and mastered by Maor Appelbaum at Maor Appelbaum Mastering in California, U.S.A and produced by Voivod. The album features cover artwork by Voivod’s Michel “Away” Langevin and includes the following track-listing: 1. Paranormalium 2. Synchro Anarchy 3. Planet Eaters 4. Mind Clock 5. Sleeves Off 6. Holographic Thinking 7. The World Today 8. Quest For Nothing 9. Memory Failure

Next to the Jewelcase CD, LP and Digital Album formats, “Synchro Anarchy” will also be available in a Deluxe edition as Ltd. 2CD Mediabook and as Digital Album (2CD), containing the special “Return To Morgöth – Live 2018” bonus disc, which features a full live-show recording of Voivod’s 35th Anniversary hometown appearance at the Festival Jonquière En Musique from June 29th, 2018. The show was recorded and mixed by Francis Perron, mastered by Yannick St-Amand and features the following track-listing: Voivod – “Return To Morgöth – Live 2018” – Bonus Disc: 1. Post Society 2. The Unknown Knows 3. Ravenous Medicine 4. Psychic Vacuum 5. Obsolete Beings 6. Technocratic Manipulators 7. Fall 8. The Prow 9. Order Of The Blackguards 10. The Lost Machine 11. Korgüll The Exterminator

The LP format of “Synchro Anarchy” will come on 180g vinyl with an A2 poster and will be available in the following variants/limitations: -Black LP & Poster – unlimited / -Transp. Green LP & Poster – 1500x copies via CM Distro & Webshop Europe & all US outlets / -Transp. Sun Yellow LP & Poster – 300x copies via CM Webshop Europe / -White LP & Poster – 300x copies via all Canadian outlets & Napalm Records / -Silver LP & Poster – 300x copies via Nuclear Blast / -Red LP & Poster – 300x copies via EMP / -Sky Blue LP & Poster – 400x copies via Voïvod on tour

Closing in on 40 eventful years of existence, Voivod now return with their 15th (!) studio album, reaffirming to be one of the most fervently creative bands in the Universe. “Synchro Anarchy” follows 2018’s highly praised and Juno Award winning “The Wake” album as well as 2020’s stellar “Lost Machine – Live” release.

Michel “Away” Langevin added: “We are eager to present our latest work, a real collaborative effort. The new album represents countless hours of writing, demoing, recording, mixing and so on. The band and Francis Perron at RadicArt Studio gave their very best to make it happen under unusual circumstances, which led us to call it “Synchro Anarchy”. We feel that the sound and music are 100% Voïvod, and we hope everyone will enjoy it as much as we had fun making it. We certainly can’t wait to play it live!”

Voivod line-up (from left to right on photo by Catherine Deslauriers): Daniel “Chewy” Mongrain – Guitar / Denis “Snake” Belanger – Vocals / Michel “Away” Langevin – Drums / Dominic “Rocky” Laroche – Bass