Feuerschwanz: Memento Mori.

Memento Mori, the new album by German medieval folk rockers Feuerschwanz, sees the band taking a step away from their simpler humor of earlier days and arriving as one of the most important bands in German folk rock! As the direct successor of Das Elfte Gebot both lyrically and musically, Memento Mori sees the band honoring their trademark – telling tales of great adventures, past battles and outstanding heroic deeds – while the album title itself calls for self-reflection and explores the fleetingness of life itself. Feuerschwanz manage to stay true to their sound while venturing into new musical realms on Memento Mori.

With chanting violin playing, Memento Mori starts its heroic journey with the title track. The song emerges as a melodic rock anthem with a well-known medieval character, a blazing guitar riff and life-affirming lyrics. On “Untot im Drachenboot”, the squad around Captain Feuerschwanz sets off for new musical shores in a Viking ship full of undead warriors. “Rausch der Barberei”, on the other hand, delivers a violent, raw voice and driving drumming that sends its listeners into an unbridled frenzy. On “Krampus”, Feuerschwanz sing in a canon of vocals and instruments about the ancient legend of the demonic companion of St. Nicholas, who is dressed in fur and a horned mask. On the ballad “Das Herz eines Drachen”, the medieval folk rockers show their sensible side. In a fire lit by burning guitar sounds and flute melodies, a warrior mourns his fallen father with his head held high. “Hannibal”, on the other hand, embarks on a raging battle of powerful choirs, swirling violin and guitar solos and driving drums, led by the well-known Carthaginian general. The crowning finale of the almost 40-minute adventure is provided by “Skaldenmet” with its proudly advancing bass.

Fans of the band can look forward to an extensive deluxe edition of the album, which extends the running time of Memento Mori by almost double! Two additional CDs feature instrumental versions of all eleven tracks as well as the cover CD, Die Glorreichen Sieben (The Magnificent Seven), which includes seven epic reissues from Amon Amarth to O-Zone and The Weeknd.

Feuerschwanz on the new album: “You take nothing with you to the grave, except your coffin…. Memento Mori is the direct sequel to The Eleventh Commandment! The world of Hauptmann Feuerschwanz is in flames, overrun by the living dead and scourged by religious zealots… All this sounds frighteningly real even in Anno Domini 2021, so it’s time to brave the storm once again and celebrate life. Let’s live here, let’s live now – until death sharpens the knives!”

Memento Mori track listing: 01. Memeno Mori 02. Untot im Drachenboot 03. Ultima Nocte 04. Rausch der Barbarei 05. Krampus 06. Feuer & Schwert 07. Das Herz eines Drachen 08. Rohirrim 09. Am Galgen 10. Hannibal 11. Skaldenmet

Feuerschwanz are: Hauptmann Feuerschwanz (Vocals, Guitar), Johanna von der Vögelweide (Violin, Hurdy Gurdy), Rollo (Drums), Jarne Hodinsson (Bass), Prinz Hodenherz (Flute, Bagpipes, Guitar, Vocals), Hans der Aufrechte (Guitar)